Skip to content
-
thesalarypoint TheSalaryPoint.com

TheSalaryPoint.com: Know Your Salary. Know Your Worth

thesalarypoint TheSalaryPoint.com

TheSalaryPoint.com: Know Your Salary. Know Your Worth

  • Home
  • In-Hand Salary
  • Private Salary
  • Government Salary
  • Knowledge Center
  • Blog
  • Home
  • In-Hand Salary
  • Private Salary
  • Government Salary
  • Knowledge Center
  • Blog
Close

Search

Ajit Doval Salary
Government Salary

Ajit Doval Salary 2026: Basic Pay, Pay Level & What’s Officially Known

By SACHIN
September 19, 2026 7 Min Read
3

Ajit Doval, India’s National Security Advisor (NSA), draws an officially disclosed basic pay of ₹1,37,500 per month at Pay Level 18 of the Central Government pay matrix. This figure comes directly from the PMO’s proactive disclosure under the Right to Information Act, most recently updated as of 30 September 2025. His exact gross and in-hand salary cannot be established from that disclosure alone, because the PMO document provides the basic-pay figure without an individual allowance or deduction breakdown for Doval.

This article breaks down what is officially verified about Ajit Doval salary, why the commonly circulated “₹2.5 lakh” figure should not be treated as an official gross-salary figure, and how to interpret the distinction between basic pay, gross salary, and in-hand pay.

Quick Answer: Ajit Doval Salary

ComponentAmount / Status
Basic Pay₹1,37,500/month
Pay LevelLevel 18
Illustrative Gross Estimate (2026)~₹2.73 lakh/month*
Exact GrossNot publicly disclosed
Exact In-HandNot publicly disclosed

*Illustrative calculation using publicly available Central Government rates and clearly stated assumptions; not an official PMO gross-salary figure. See methodology below.

Important: The figure ₹2,50,000 shown against Level 18 in the pay matrix is the maximum of the pay scale, not Doval’s actual basic pay. His disclosed basic pay is ₹1,37,500. Any gross or in-hand figure beyond the basic pay is an estimate that depends on applicable allowances and deductions.

Ajit Doval’s Official Salary: What the PMO Data Shows

The PMO publishes details of monthly remuneration of officers and staff as part of its proactive disclosure under Section 4(1)(b) of the RTI Act. The relevant disclosure (as on 30 September 2025) lists Ajit Doval as:

  • Designation: National Security Advisor
  • Pay Level: Level-18 (₹2,50,000 ceiling)
  • Basic Pay: ₹1,37,500

This places him at the highest pay level in the 7th Central Pay Commission (CPC) matrix, which is shared by positions such as the Cabinet Secretary and the Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister. The NSA position is a senior advisory role attached to the PMO.

What the PMO document does not provide: The disclosure lists basic pay and pay level but does not itemize Dearness Allowance (DA), House Rent Allowance (HRA), Transport Allowance, or deductions for individual officers. As a result, Doval’s exact gross salary and take-home pay are not officially established.

How We Estimate Gross Salary (Methodology)

To provide a useful reference point, here is a transparent illustrative calculation using publicly available Central Government rates and clearly stated assumptions. This is an estimate, not an official PMO figure, and assumes HRA applicability.

ComponentRate / RuleAmount on ₹1,37,500 basic
Basic PayFixed₹1,37,500
Dearness Allowance (DA)60% of basic (from Jan 2026)₹82,500
House Rent Allowance (HRA)30% of basic (X-category city assumption)₹41,250
Transport Allowance (TPTA)Level 9+: ₹7,200 + DA thereon (TPTA city)₹11,520
Illustrative Gross Estimate~₹2,72,770/month

Notes on this calculation:

  • DA: For the illustrative 2026 calculation, DA is taken at 60% of basic pay. The rate was increased from 58% to 60% effective 1 January 2026, per the Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure Office Memorandum No. 1/1(i)/2026-E.II(B), dated 22 April 2026.
  • HRA: Rates are currently 30% (X cities), 20% (Y cities), and 10% (Z cities) after DA crossed 50%. The HRA assumption is illustrative. We do not have an official PMO document stating that Doval personally receives 30% HRA. The calculation assumes X-category city applicability for illustration. New Delhi is an X-category city under the HRA classification.
  • Transport Allowance (TPTA): Per the Ministry of Finance Office Memorandum No. 21/5/2017-E.II(B) dated 7 July 2017, employees at Pay Level 9 and above posted in TPTA-listed cities are entitled to ₹7,200 + DA thereon. With DA at 60%, this amounts to ₹7,200 + ₹4,320 = ₹11,520/month. The applicable transport arrangement for Doval is not individually disclosed in the PMO remuneration statement. Therefore, ₹11,520 is used only as an illustrative TPTA calculation and should not be treated as his confirmed personal allowance.
  • What is excluded: This estimate does not account for special allowances, official entertainment allowances, or any position-specific compensations that may apply.
  • Deductions are not reflected: The actual in-hand amount would be lower after employee PF contribution, CGHS contribution, income tax, and professional tax.

Bottom line: The commonly cited ₹2.5 lakh figure should not be treated as Doval’s current official gross salary. A calculation using the stated current DA and HRA rates produces a higher estimate, but the PMO does not publish an individual gross-salary breakdown. The figure remains an estimate.

Sources for This Calculation

InputSourceLink
Basic Pay, Pay LevelPMO proactive disclosure (as on 30 Sept 2025)PMO Monthly Remuneration (Sept 2025)
DA rate of 60%Ministry of Finance, Dept. of Expenditure OM No. 1/1(i)/2026-E.II(B), dated 22 April 2026DA Order — Mint report
HRA rates (30/20/10%)Central Government HRA rules — CWC Circular dated 29 Oct 2025HRA Circular (CEWACOR)
Transport AllowanceMoF Dept. of Expenditure OM No. 21/5/2017-E.II(B), dated 7 July 2017TA Rates — Gazette notification
Longest-serving NSAPIB Press Release, 1 August 2026PIB Release

Read More: D Pharmacy Salary / SBI PO Salary / Commercial Pilot Salary / Pashu Paricharak Salary

Basic Pay vs Gross vs In-Hand: Why the Distinction Matters

One of the most common sources of confusion in salary discussions is the difference between CTC, gross salary, and in-hand salary. Here is how these apply to Doval’s compensation:

TermMeaningDoval’s Salary
Basic PayFixed component before allowances₹1,37,500 (official)
Gross SalaryBasic + all allowancesIllustrative estimate ~₹2.73 lakh (not official)
Net / In-HandGross minus deductionsNot officially disclosed

Media reports have cited figures ranging from “around ₹2 lakh” to “approximately ₹2.5 lakh” for Doval’s total monthly compensation. These figures should not be treated as official PMO figures. Those figures may not reflect the current allowance assumptions used in this article, including 60% DA and the illustrative 30% HRA rate for X-category cities. However, because the PMO does not publish Doval’s individual allowance breakdown, any gross figure beyond the basic pay remains an estimate.

Ajit Doval’s Pay Level and Entitlements

The PMO disclosure places the NSA at Pay Level 18, the apex level of the 7th CPC pay matrix.

Salary Components (Cash Compensation)

  • Basic Pay: ₹1,37,500/month (official)
  • Dearness Allowance (DA): 60% of basic pay for the illustrative 2026 calculation
  • House Rent Allowance (HRA): Applicable at 30% for X-category cities, 20% for Y-category, 10% for Z-category
  • Transport Allowance (TPTA): ₹7,200 + DA for Level 9+ in TPTA cities (₹11,520 with 60% DA), subject to applicable rules

Official Facilities and Entitlements (Non-Cash)

These are not salary components but position-related entitlements:

  • Z+ Security Cover: Highest level of VIP protection
  • Government Accommodation: High-security official residence
  • Official Transport: Vehicle with escort and security detail
  • Official Travel: For diplomatic and security engagements
  • Office and Secretariat Support: NSCS staff and infrastructure

These facilities are not cash salary components and should not be added to the published basic-pay figure when estimating monthly cash compensation.

Ajit Doval Profile

DetailInformation
Full NameAjit Kumar Doval
Current PositionNational Security Advisor
Age81 (born 20 January 1945)
Joined IPS1968 (Kerala cadre)
PMO Role SinceMay 2014
Pay LevelLevel 18
Basic Pay₹1,37,500/month (official, as on 30 Sept 2025)

Doval is the longest-serving National Security Advisor in India’s history, officially confirmed in a 2026 PIB release. He was reappointed in June 2024 for a third term.

Regarding his rank: the official appointment notification states that Doval will be assigned the rank of Cabinet Minister in the Table of Precedence during his term in office. This is a protocol/rank assignment and does not automatically mean every Cabinet Minister cash allowance applies to the NSA position. His salary follows the Central Government pay matrix at Level 18.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Ajit Doval’s basic salary?

Answer: Ajit Doval’s officially disclosed basic salary is ₹1,37,500 per month at Pay Level 18, as per the PMO’s proactive disclosure under the RTI Act (updated as on 30 September 2025).

2. What is Ajit Doval’s total monthly salary?

Answer: An illustrative gross estimate for 2026, using current DA (60%) and HRA (30% for X-category) rates, produces approximately ₹2.73 lakh per month before deductions. This is a calculated estimate, not an official PMO figure. The exact gross and in-hand amounts are not publicly disclosed.

3. Is the ₹2.5 lakh figure for Ajit Doval salary accurate?

Answer: The ₹2.5 lakh figure appears in some media reports but is not an official PMO figure. It should not be treated as Doval’s current official gross salary. A calculation using the stated current DA and HRA rates produces a higher estimate, but the PMO does not publish an individual gross-salary breakdown. The figure remains an estimate.

4. Is Ajit Doval salary higher than the Prime Minister’s?

Answer: The Prime Minister’s remuneration and the NSA’s pay are governed through different arrangements, so comparing the two using only their basic-pay figures can be misleading. The PM’s salary is set by a separate Act of Parliament, while the NSA’s pay follows the Central Government pay matrix at Level 18.

5. What is Ajit Doval’s UPSC rank?

Answer: Ajit Doval cleared the UPSC examination in 1968 and joined the Indian Police Service (Kerala cadre). His exact rank in the examination is not a matter of public record, and claims circulating online about a specific rank are unverified.

6. What facilities does Ajit Doval receive?

Answer: As NSA, Ajit Doval receives Z+ security cover, government accommodation, official transport, and other facilities commensurate with his position. These are position-related entitlements, not salary components.

7. How many years has Ajit Doval been NSA?

Answer: Ajit Doval has served as National Security Advisor since May 2014, making him the longest-serving NSA in India’s history. He was reappointed in June 2024.

Final Takeaway

The only officially verified salary figure for Ajit Doval is his basic pay of ₹1,37,500 per month at Pay Level 18, as disclosed by the PMO. An illustrative calculation using current DA (60%), HRA (30%), and Transport Allowance (₹11,520) produces an estimated gross of approximately ₹2.73 lakh per month, but this is not an official PMO disclosure. The commonly cited ₹2.5 lakh figure should not be treated as Doval’s current official gross salary, though the exact gross remains an estimate because the PMO does not publish an individual allowance breakdown. When reading articles that cite a single “salary” figure for Doval, check whether they are referring to basic pay, gross salary, or in-hand salary — these are three different numbers, and conflating them leads to inaccurate conclusions.

Read More: Anjana Om Kashyap Salary / CA Salary / CGDA Auditor Salary / Air Hostess Salary / PIFRA Registration

Tags:

7th CPC pay level 18Ajit Doval ageAjit Doval allowancesAjit Doval basic payAjit Doval familyAjit Doval gross salaryAjit Doval in-hand salaryAjit Doval kon haiAjit Doval net worthAjit Doval pay level 18Ajit Doval salaryAjit Doval salary 2026Ajit Doval salary in rupeesAjit Doval securityAjit Doval UPSC rankgovernment salary IndiaLevel 18 pay matrixNational Security Advisor salaryNSA salary IndiaPMO salary disclosure
Author

SACHIN

Follow Me
Other Articles
D Pharmacy Salary
Previous

D Pharmacy Salary in India 2026: Fresher to Experienced Pay Guide

BAMS Doctor Salary
Next

BAMS Doctor Salary in India 2026: Government vs Private Pay, In-Hand Salary and Career Growth

3 Comments
  1. BAMS Doctor Salary in India 2026: Govt vs Private Pay says:
    September 19, 2026 at 9:49 am

    […] More: Ajit Doval Salary / D Pharmacy Salary / SBI PO Salary / Commercial Pilot Salary / Pashu Paricharak […]

    Reply
  2. Para SF Commando Salary 2026: Basic Pay & In-Hand Salary says:
    September 20, 2026 at 7:11 am

    […] More: BAMS Doctor Salary / Ajit Doval Salary / D Pharmacy Salary / SBI PO Salary / Commercial Pilot […]

    Reply
  3. MSc Nursing Salary in India 2026: Government vs Private Pay says:
    September 27, 2026 at 7:51 am

    […] More: Para SF Commando Salary / BAMS Doctor Salary / Ajit Doval Salary / D Pharmacy Salary / SBI PO […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • Disclaimer
Latest Post
  • Merchant Navy Deck Cadet Salary 2026: Complete Guide to Stipend, Pay & Career Growth
  • Hotel Management Course Salary 2026: Fresher Salary, Per Month Income & Career Growth
  • BCA Salary 2026: Starting Salary, Top Jobs & In-Hand Breakdown
  • BBA Aviation Salary in India 2026: Fresher Pay, Job Roles and Career Growth
  • Airport Worker Salary in India 2026: Ground Staff Pay, Per Month In-Hand & Role-Wise Breakdown
Copyright 2026 — TheSalaryPoint.com. All rights reserved. Blogsy WordPress Theme